Arrow Awards winners seal no year - final 300dpi

California Product Stewardship Arrow Awards

Recognizing California Businesses that Demonstrate
Leadership in Product Stewardship

The California Product Stewardship Council recognizes California businesses for outstanding leadership, innovation and partnerships in product stewardship and green design. The Arrow Awards recognize innovative product stewardship programs, outstanding partnerships in product stewardship and serve to inspire organizations to integrate the principles of product stewardship.

Arrow Awards Application Details


Any business entity (division or facility located in California), third party stewardship organizations and non‐profits are eligible to apply.

Award Recipient Benefits

  • A custom-designed award made of recycled materials by bay area artist Ellen Blakeley presented at an evening awards event attended by more than 700 local and state government representatives, state legislators and industry representatives.
  • Statewide media coverage
  • Organization’s profile on CPSC’s Arrow Awards web page for one year
  • Organization’s profile in CPSC’s electronic newsletter, distributed to more than 3,000 viewers
  • Organization’s video (if submitted) uploaded to CPSC’s YouTube Channel
  • Use of Arrow Awards medallion on organization’s public relations materials
  • Ongoing promotion and support from CPSC
  • A link from CPSC’s website to award recipients

Award Categories

Overall Excellence Award:

The Golden Arrow Award for Overall Excellence in Product Stewardship

Description: This award will be given to a company that demonstrates excellence in several aspects of product stewardship, including green design, toxics reduction, packaging reduction, increased reuse, repair, re-manufacture, convenient product take-back and end of life (EOL) management for one or more products.

Note: Do not apply for this award. The Golden Arrow Award winner will be selected by the review panel from the applicants of the categories below. If you wish to be considered for the Golden Arrow Award, then ensure your application speaks to all three individual categories.

Three Category Winners:

The Green Arrow Award for System and Design Innovations

Description: This award will be given to a company that demonstrates an innovative product, package or system-approach that removes or reduces toxic or other problematic attributes present in other similar products. Examples: citrus cleaners that replace petroleum solvents; refillable packaging vs. one-way disposable; integrated (cradle-to-cradle) approach to providing a product, i.e., prepaid mailer to return product to manufacturer for reuse or recycling.

The Bow and Arrow Award for Coalition Building

Description: This award will be given to a company or group that has excelled in building partnerships and demonstrating the inter-dependence between producers, distributors, retailers, public agencies and other stakeholders. The award may recognize a producer, a group of producers, an industry or trade association, or a stewardship organization that works with public agencies, retailers or other stakeholders to deal with EOL issues.

The Infinity Arrow Award for Service and Take-Back

Description: This award will recognize a retail business, group of businesses, or chain that has initiated an outstanding Take Back program for one or more product as an additional convenience and service to their customers, and works with the producers of those products in developing safe storage and recovery of EOL products and packages.

2018 Arrow Award Winners

2017 Arrow Award Winners

2016 Arrow Award Winners

2015 Arrow Award Winners

2014 Arrow Award Winners

2013 Arrow Award Winners

2012 Arrow Award Winners

2011 Arrow Award Winners

2010 Arrow Award Winners


Donate to CPSC



   Our Campaigns:

facebook CPSC on Twitter
CPSC on YouTube linkedin